All change

All future updates, resources along with the previous content from this site can now be found at

Wednesday, 14 October 2009

Millenium Development Goals (MDGs)

In September 2000, the Millennium Declaration was ratified by 189 heads of state at the United Nations Millennium Summit.
The Declaration outlines eight broad goals.

Within these are eighteen targets - most set for 2015 using 1990 as a benchmark - and forty-eight indicators.

These Millennium Development Goals represent a global commitment by all nations who signed the Declaration to reduce poverty and improve lives.

The Millennium Development Goals are:

Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education
Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women
Goal 4: Reduce child mortality
Goal 5: Improve maternal health
Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases
Goal 7: Ensure environmental sustainability
Goal 8: Develop a global partnership for development

For more on this visit the Millenium Goals page on the BBC World Service Website

Thanks to Alex McNair (A Level Geographer) for this link

Total Pageviews